About GHTD
ADA Paratransit Service
Board of Directors
Business Opportunities
Drug & Alcohol Testing Consortium
Grantee Reporting
Insurance Consortium
Meeting Information
Member Towns
Recent GHTD Initiatives
Spruce Street Parking Lot
Transportation Links
Union Station


Organizational Information:

The Greater Hartford Transit District (the “District”) is a quasi-municipal corporation operating under the authority of Chapter 103a of the Connecticut General Statutes. There are currently sixteen member towns: Bloomfield, East Hartford, East Windsor, Enfield, Farmington, Granby, Hartford, Manchester, Newington, Rocky Hill, Simsbury, South Windsor, Vernon, West Hartford, Wethersfield and Windsor. Each member town appoints one to four Directors according to population, who collectively form the Board of Directors, which is the policy making body of the District. The day to day affairs are managed by the District staff. The District has broad powers to acquire, operate, finance, plan, develop, maintain and otherwise provide all forms of land transportation and related services including the development or renewal of transportation centers and parking facilities.

The following is a general overview of activities that the District performs and has oversight for:
Demand Responsive Transportation Activities: The District plays two roles with respect to the area's demand response service. In the first role, the District acts as a Federal Transit Administration (FTA) grantee for public and private organizations that provide capital assistance for the demand-response services that the organizations' own employees or their contractors provide. In the second role, the District, under contract to the Connecticut Department of Transportation (CTDoT), provides complementary paratransit service required by the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA). The District contracts with a private operator for the provision of its consolidated service. The service provides over 500,000 passenger trips annually.